2022 r/Fantasy Bingo Challenge: Conclusion and Thoughts

Official announcement thread with square definitions
My original plan
Date finished: September 29

Let’s pretend I intentionally waited to post the Bingo wrap-up until early April. Totally not started in September, forgotten, and finished at the last minute, no sir. But at least it’s finally done.

Statistics

  • In the end, 19 (76%) squares qualify for hard mode. This is…a lot more than I expected to get. But I will still not be redoing it to get full hard mode.
  • 10 (40%) books were by female authors, 7 (28%) by male authors, 5 (20%) by non-binary authors, 1 (4%) by an author Iā€™m unsure how to categorise, and 2 (8%) mixed collections.
  • 10 (40%) squares were the same as in the original plan. One book from the plan was reshuffled to another square in the end (Non-Human Protagonist instead of Top LGBTQIA+ List). One book from the plan was read, but didn’t get used because I found something that fit HM. 4 of the 15 replacements were due to DNFs – if I got luckier with my choices, I might have finished with 14 (56%) books that were the same as in the original plan.
  • 3 (12%) of the books were self-published.
  • 5 (20%) books were novellas. The rest were novels, one anthology, and one graphic novel.
  • 7 (28%) books used were ARCs.
  • 15 (60%) squares were rated YAY, 7 (28%) squares were rated MEH and 2 (8%) were rated BOO. For one, I had to invent a new rating, the WTF (and not really in a positive way).

šŸ³ļøā€šŸŒˆ A Book from r/Fantasy’s Top LGBTQIA List: The Shadow Throne by Django Wexler

19103030

Hard mode: No
As planned: No, I ended up using The Galaxy, and the Ground Within for another square.

Yeah, I did not like this. From the accidental antisemitism, to a tired take on a revolution with common people who want a republic being violent thugs and good guy being the enlightened centrists (ew) and some nobility, to romance with miscommunication-based drama, about every single aspect of it annoyed me. But with how many books on the list I already read, I didn’t have a choice, I had to grit my teeth and force myself to finish. Believe me, I’d DNF if I could.

Bingo rating: BOO

šŸ™ Weird Ecology: Weird Fishes by Rae Mariz

60886753. sx318

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, it was an ARC that happened to fit, so I used it.

I really liked that book…right until the last 10% or so. The ending was so brutal and jarring that it soured me on the book. It’s weird and inventive enough that it couldn’t be either a MEH or a BOO, but that ending disqualifies it from YAY, or recommending it. So, a new rating had to be introduced.

Bingo rating: WTF

šŸ‘„ Two or More Authors: An Oresteia translated by Anne Carson

20341675

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No

This might be one of my favourite books of all time. Poetic, beautiful, very easy to read modern translation of three plays. Bless Bingo and whoever recommended it to me in one of the daily threads.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ› Historical SFF: The Lights of Prague by Nicole Jarvis

49970144

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No

One of my older ARCs that I decided to use for Bingo. Aggressively mediocre, doesn’t do anything especially interesting with vampires apart from being set in 19th century Prague. But it did the job.

Bingo rating: MEH

šŸŒŒ Set in Space: Precursor by C.J. Cherryh

22055910

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No

Plans or no, it was pretty inevitable I’d use a Foreigner book somewhere when I started reading the series. After the first one, the quality stays consistent and it’s fun watching Bren get into things way over his head. And as it happens, the fourth book fit the space square.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ“” Standalone: The Bruising of Qilwa by Naseem Jamnia

60675680. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

Pretty disappointing. It was one of my most anticipated books due to the cover and the description, but while the worldbuilding was great, I found the execution of the rest lacking. Especially the pacing was all over the place. At least it was short.

Bingo rating: MEH

šŸ¦¹ Anti-Hero: Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances by Aliette de Bodard

60489094. sy475

Hard mode: No
As planned: Yes

Was a little stuck on the definition of anti-hero, so I just shoved in the first thing that could reasonably fit. Pretty fun novella, but boy oh boy do I need to read the main series already.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ’¬ Book Club OR Readalong Book: Spear by Nicola Griffith

56310104. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No

Technically, I cheated a little with this one – I read the book a few months before the bookclub and put it onto the card afterwards. But I did participate in the discussion, so whatever. I loved it. Easily one of the best reads of 2022 and the afterword elevated it to another level for me.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ—”ļø Cool Weapon: The Spear Cuts Through Water by Simon Jimenez

55868456

Hard mode: No
As planned: No

Another disappointment. I’m usually very into prose-y, literary fantasy, so I expected it’d be a clear favourite, but instead, I found it a massive chore to read and nearly DNF’d several times. But I was very relieved when I realised it fit a fairly difficult Bingo square. One thing it was good for.

Bingo rating: BOO

šŸ”„ Revolutions and Rebellions: Bitter by Akwaeke Emezi

58679353

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

A prequel to Pet. Also found it quite enjoyable and interesting. I expected this square would be difficult for me since I’m fucking allergic to bad French revolution retellings (aka 99% of them), but luckily, I managed to find something that doesn’t fall into that category at all.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ™‹ Name in the Title: The Death of Jane Lawrence by Caitlin Starling

56903312. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

A pretty obvious choice for this square. Why not go for hard mode when I already own a book that fits? Anyway, much to my own surprise, I apparently love gothic horror now.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ”  Author Uses Initials: The Unbalancing by R.B. Lemberg

56060770

Hard mode: No
As planned: Yes

Last book I read for Bingo, ending it on a high note. The beginning was a little rough, but the take on gender, especially the setting recognising several non-binary genders, was great. And without going into spoiler territory, it also does something very bold plot-wise, which I can only applaud.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ“… Published in 2022: Dead Collections by Isaac Fellman

58064245

Hard mode: No
As planned: Yes

The first book I read for Bingo, which is pretty funny given that the previous square was the last one. And I have to say it started on a high note as well. I absolutely love everything Fellman puts out.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ§™ā€ā™€ļø Urban Fantasy: Witches of Lychford by Paul Cornell

25629190. sy475

Hard mode: Hmm…don’t remember but I think not?
As planned: Yes

Another “I don’t really wanna” shove-in. I don’t like UF (with very rare exceptions that I couldn’t be bothered to look for), and I already owned this novella. And it was alright. But as with many series, I keep forgetting to read the sequels.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸŒ Set in Africa: Scarlet Odyssey by C.T. Rwizi

51072332

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, it was an impulse read I decided to shove in.

When I heard that it has people riding antelopes, I simply had to read it. And while the worldbuilding is fantastic, I found it slow, and besides, I’ve been suffering from epic fantasy fatigue for the last few years. Still, one day I’ll read the rest of the series. For the antelopes.

Bingo rating: MEH

šŸ‘½ Non-Human Protagonist: The Galaxy, and the Ground Within by Becky Chambers

57562102. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes, but not initially for this square. My plan was Children of Time, but after I DNF’d Shards of Earth by the same author, I rather did a swap.

This square was a mess. I was so, so sure I’d finally read Children of Time. Then I hit a DNF and suddenly I wasn’t so sure I want it anymore, so I had to scramble to find something, anything that’d fit. Anyway, while I didn’t enjoy The Galaxy, and the Ground Within as much as the other Wayfarers books, it was still a pretty decent read.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ•°ļø Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey: The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

35066358. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

Another book that’s been on my TBR for ages and ages and while I’m glad that Bingo finally pushed me to read it, it was unfortunately another very underwhelming read. The concept grew on me, but the protagonist was so boring and the ending fell pretty flat.

Bingo rating: MEH

5ļøāƒ£ Five SFF Short Stories: The Djinn Falls in Love & Other Stories edited by Mahvesh Murad and Jared Shurin

33931188. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

I’m not a fan of short stories, but I try to go for hard mode each year anyway because it makes David (if you’re reading this, hi ) happy. This one was…not among my favourites, there were more stories that I disliked or found mediocre than those I’d like. This year I’ll be back to single-author collections, since I tend to like them more.

Bingo rating: MEH

šŸ™ Features Mental Health: Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki

56269476

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No

Another impulse read that made it in. I haven’t paid much attention to it near release, but it went on sale, and my friends were talking about it (“the donut book”), so I wanted to try. Not technically perfect, with its rough patches, but 10/10 unputdownable and made me crave donuts.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ“ Self-Published OR Indie Publisher: Their Heart a Hive by Fox N. Locke

61245448. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, I DNF’d The Sign of the Dragon, my original pick.

The first in the string of DNFs that were plaguing me this year. I was so sure I’d like The Sign of the Dragon – a story told in poetry, sign me up! But I didn’t count on my pickiness when it comes to style. Luckily, I had MUCH better luck with my second pick, an extremely underrated, queernorm, cozy, slice of life standalone. I was exactly the target audience and I loved it.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ„‰ Award Finalist, But Not Won: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

56559214. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, I DNF’d The Raven Tower, my original pick.

Finding The Raven Tower too boring to continue forced my hand again. I wasn’t sure if I’d like or hate Strange the Dreamer and the end result fell somewhere in between – loved the start, but it lost me in the second half and that cliffhanger was atrocious. I still read the second book, but it didn’t really help.

Bingo rating: MEH

āœšŸ½ BIPOC Author: The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach

59364177. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, originally planned Babel by R.F. Kuang, which I did read in the end, but it’s not HM.

The Dawnhounds has been on my radar since its selfpub days. But when I heard that the trad release is both longer and more queer and realised it fits hard mode besides…well. And it didn’t disappoint either. I can’t wait for the next book.

Bingo rating: YAY

āœØ Shapeshifters: Of the Wild by E. Wambheim

58424483. sx318

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, I again DNF’d my original pick (Aurora’s Angel).

Another in the string of DNF-induced swaps. Made me panic a little because most shapeshifter books aren’t my thing (too heteronormative), but this very sweet and very queer novella did the trick.

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸš« No Ifs, Ands, or Buts: Two Dark Moons by Avi Silver

45894376

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: Yes

Pretty straightforward. I had it, it fit, and it’s set in the same world as The Heretic’s Guide to Homecoming, so I knew I’m up for some creative worldbuilding. Enjoyed it, too. One day I’ll read the sequel…one day…

Bingo rating: YAY

šŸ‘Ŗ Family Matters: Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker and Wendy Xu

44774415. sy475

Hard mode: Yes
As planned: No, shoved it in when I randomly read it and it turned out to be HM.

A cute graphic novel, but pretty unmemorable. Happened to fit hard mode though, so why not use it.

Bingo rating: MEH

One thought on “2022 r/Fantasy Bingo Challenge: Conclusion and Thoughts”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started